unsoed tempoe doeloe

Jenderal Soedirman University (UNSOED) is located in Purwokerto, a municipal city in Banyumas regency, Central Java, Indonesia. The establishment of this university began in 1961 when formal and informal leaders of Banyumas, motivated by the educational mandate of the National Constitution (Pembukaan UUD 1945) and the people demands, discussed the need to build a university in the area. Thus, they set up Yayasan Pembina Universitas Jenderal Soedirman, a foundation that prepared the development of the university. This foundation was legalized by an Act of Notary No. 32, 20 September 1961. Eventually, following other pressures from different components of people (such as the local education authority and the Indonesia National Army) and based on the Presidential Decree No. 195, 23 September 1963, Jenderal Soedirman University (UNSOED) was formally inaugurated by the Minister of Higher Education and Science, Prof. Dr. Tojib Hadiwidjaja at the House of Resident of Banyumas.

At the beginning, the university only administered three faculties: the Faculty of Agriculture (formerly under the University of Diponegoro Semarang), the Faculty of Biology, and the Faculty of Economics. Later on, the university set up some other faculties: the Faculty of Animal Science, the Faculty of Law, the Faculty of Social and Political Sciences, the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, and the Faculty of Science and Engineering. In addition, there are 11 Diploma-3 programs, 33 S1-Study programs, and 3 professional programs, which are distributed to those faculties. The university also has nine postgraduate programs: Master of Management, Master of Economic Management, Master of Economic Development, Master of Law Sciences, Master of Public Administration, Master of Environmental Sciences, Master of Agronomics, Master of Animal Resources, and Master of Biology.